搜索
教育王國 討論區 幼校討論 Learning habitat
發新帖
查看: 9310|回覆: 10
go

Learning habitat [複製鏈接]

1#
發表於 12-4-9 16:18 |只看該作者 |倒序瀏覽 |打印
Recently we plan to let our kid go to preschools and thus also started to visit kindergartens in Hong Kong. We've been to preschool interviews at different kindergartens. As a psychology professor, I really do not agree with how learning habitat interviewed and selected their students. I think it is ok to ask kids to name objects or match colors as a way to understand their development. However, I do not think it is right to use the results of these tests as a way to "assess" whether they can get admission or not. On the notification letter, they said "according to our assessment ...", but what they assessed was mostly developmental differences due to age. These are kids between 1-2 years old; as we know, one month during this period makes a lot of difference; kids who couldn't name objects during the interview were most likely because they were simply not ready. Also, girls in general have faster language development, and bilinguals in general have slower language development; these individual differences in development do not mean girls are smarter than boys or monolinguals are better. Thus, their interview process and attitude just sounds so ridiculous to me. I wonder whether they ended up with getting mostly older girls.
   2    0    0    0

2#
發表於 12-4-9 21:55 |只看該作者
True. But the existence of so many education books written by developmental psychologists cautioning against accelerating their learning schedule years ahead is proof that this is a world phenomena, or problem to be precise. The real problem is that too many parents believe that learning much more difficult stuff at younger ages promotes a child's intelligence. That belief transform into expectations on schools as well. As a result, all aggressive high profile schools are doing what they are being expected.

3#
發表於 12-4-10 17:26 |只看該作者